Spotlight on Brittany

9 February 2017

The region of Brittany, is one of the original provinces of France comprising of four "departments" or counties (Ile et Vilaine, Morbihan, Côtes d'Armor & Finistère), located on the peninsula at the western tip of France, giving it a coastline of about 1,700 miles! Combining t long beaches of fine sand, fishing ports, to the "wild coast" with its granite cliffs and small shingle beach.

Inland you have a whole pallet of landscapes with "montagnes noires", a chain of "little mountains" of low altitude. The many wooded valleys and forests, and large agricultural areas.

Without forgetting its navigable rivers such as the Canal from Nantes to Brest, Le Rance and Blavet.
Brittany is populated Bretons and Bretonnes who defend their Celtic culture, the largest Celtic festival in the world takes place every year in Lorient.

The main cities, Rennes (the capital), Vannes, Lorient, Quimper, Brest, Saint Brieux and Saint Malo.

Brittany have a population of 4.5 million inhabitants and 34,000 square kilometres thus a density of only 132 inhabitants / km, so 1/40th of the density of London!

By continuing browsing this website, you consent to the use of cookies for personalized service and audience statistics.

Learn more Close